Police Stations in Kakinada District of Andhra Pradesh Tap into Solar Power

Published by firstgreen on

Police stations in Kakinada district of Andhra Pradesh have tapped into solar power installing solar plants. The State police department has identified 14 police stations in the district in which solar plants were installed to harness solar power to meet the day-to-day requirements. Each police station would require 1.5 kW solar panel in addition to inverter and batteries for the system to function. The 14 police stations where solar plants were installed are: Yetapaka, Kunavaram, Chintur, and Edugurallapalli in Chintur police subdivision Y Ramavaram in Agency area and Tuni (general railway police) in sub-plan area and III Town Traffic Police Station, Prakash Nagar, Bommuru, Rajanagaram, Rajamahendravaram II Town, Dowleswaram, Kadiyam and Korukonda police stations under Rajamahendravaram urban police district.

According to the official in the department solar power plants were installed at a cost of `2.39 lakh at each police station. It received 30 per cent subsidy from Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme (MGNREGS) and 20 per cent from New and Renewable Energy Development Corporation of Andhra Pradesh (NREDCAP).

Source: http://www.saurenergy.com

Categories: Solar