The Comprehensive Guide to LCA Analysis in Green Building Certification: LEED® vs BREEAM

Published by firstgreen on

As the global drive towards sustainable construction practices accelerates, it’s imperative for developers, architects, and stakeholders to understand the metrics that measure a building’s environmental impact. Two prominent frameworks guiding this journey are LEED® and BREEAM. Both are based on Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) analysis. We provide an in-depth comparison and outline the LCA methodologies they employ.

Understanding Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) in Building Certification

At its core, LCA is a systematic assessment tool that evaluates the environmental impacts associated with all the stages of a product’s life, from cradle to grave. In the context of green building, this ranges from material extraction to demolition and recycling. The process encompasses the following stages.

  • Goal and Scope Definition: Here, the intended application, audience, and product to be studied are defined. It sets the groundwork for the entire assessment.

  • Life Cycle Inventory (LCI): This phase involves collating data on inputs and outputs throughout the building’s life cycle.

  • Life Cycle Impact Assessment (LCIA): Evaluating the potential environmental implications of the collected data.

  • Interpretation: This stage draws conclusions and offers recommendations based on the prior analyses.

LEED®: The Pioneer in Sustainable Construction

LEED® (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design), established by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), has become a golden standard worldwide. As a voluntary, consensus-based tool, it’s designed to champion regenerative and restorative strategies, ensuring buildings are not just energy-efficient but also health and environment-friendly.

LEED®’s Impact Categories

LEED v4 introduced seven Impact Categories that form the bedrock of its certification process. These categories, ranging from addressing global climate change to enhancing community quality of life, act as guideposts for projects. A few key categories include:

  • Reverse Contribution to Global Climate Change: Efforts towards reducing a building’s carbon footprint.

  • Enhance Individual Human Health and Well-Being: Prioritizing indoor air quality, natural lighting, and other factors that influence occupant health.

  • Protect and Restore Water Resources: Sustainable water management practices to conserve water and reduce wastage.

LEED® certification operates on a point system, accumulated by meeting prerequisites and fulfilling credits. Depending on the points, a building can be classified as Certified, Silver, Gold, or Platinum.

BREEAM: The UK’s Benchmark in Sustainability

BREEAM (BRE Environmental Assessment Method) has its roots in the UK, initiated in 1990. It stands as a testament to sustainable construction practices, providing third-party certification of a building’s performance across multiple fronts.

BREEAM’s Assessment Domains

BREEAM evaluates structures across a range of categories that influence a building’s environmental, social, and economic sustainability. Some noteworthy categories include:

  • Energy: Efforts aimed at energy conservation and using renewable sources.

  • Health and Wellbeing: Measures that ensure the occupants’ health isn’t compromised.

  • Materials: Sustainable sourcing and use of construction materials.

LEED® vs BREEAM: The Key Differences

While both LEED® and BREEAM aim for a sustainable future, their methodologies differ:

  • Geographical Origins: LEED® is an American standard, while BREEAM is British. This results in certain regional preferences and biases in their recommendations.

  • Assessment Parameters: While there’s overlap, the specific parameters and their weightages differ between the two.

  • Certification Levels: LEED® operates on a four-tier system (Certified, Silver, Gold, Platinum), whereas BREEAM’s ratings range from ‘Pass’ to ‘Outstanding’.


Both LEED® and BREEAM offer comprehensive guidelines and frameworks for constructing sustainable buildings. The choice between them should be based on the project’s geographical location, objectives, and specific environmental concerns. By leveraging LCA methodologies, these certifications ensure a greener and more sustainable future for our built environment.

Categories: LCA